• Alex Birley

Third Round Pre-Race Report - Anglesey.

Updated: Jul 29, 2019

A Feast of Formula Ford Single-Seater Action at Anglesey.

With a packed programme of racing this weekend (8 – 9 June 2019), fans can be certain of plenty to see, beside the sea at Anglesey.

The scenic Welsh circuit plays host to the third round of what is proving to be one of the closest FF1600 National championships in many years. There have been five different winning drivers, from the first five races: Rory Smith (B-M Racing), Spike Kohlbecker (Cliff Dempsey Racing), Neil MacLennan (Kevin Mills Racing), Jonathan Browne (Cliff Dempsey Racing) and Ross Martin (Team Dolan).

Ross Martin arrives as the National Pro Championship leader having been a regular visitor to the 2019 podium and knows this is key in the fight to be the 2019 champion saying “So far I’ve had a good start to the year. My aim is to be consistent and pick up points at each event, which is also my target for this weekend, hopefully.

“I am looking forward to visiting Anglesey again as I really like the circuit. It is great to be leading the championship, but there is still a long way to go and plenty of close racing to be had.”

Jonathan Browne has to miss this round, but Martin certainly won’t be having things all his own way with the impressive American racer, Spike Kohlbecker and other race winners, MacLennan and Smith determined to increase their number of wins and move up the table.

Martin will also face challenges from teammate former F4 racer, Jamie Sharp and from James Clarke who proved he is both quick and resilient after coming back from a nasty turn one shunt from pole position in race one at Oulton Park to a second place in race two.

Kevin Mills Racing fields three cars again with MacLennan, Michael Macpherson, another potential race winner, and the rookie Brendon Leigh, the first Formula 1 Esports Series World Champion and current Professional Esports driver for Mercedes F1 esports team.

Watch out for the other rookies former Karter, Scott Huntley (Oldfield Motorsports) and Morgan Quinn who is the fourth member of the Team Dolan squad. These two are battling for rookie championship honours, along with Nicola Woods who is gaining more experience at every event.

Huntley is looking forward to getting more track time, commenting "It has certainly been a challenging start to my FF1600 career. It was quite a late decision to take this next step after my time in karting, so I've had very little pre-season testing. I also missed out on the Saturday practice session at Snetterton and most of the Friday practice at Oulton Park.

"I'm looking forward to racing again in Wales, as I always enjoyed success at the karting circuits we've been to, Llandow in South Wales and particularly Glan Y Gors, in North Wales, which also has spectacular scenery.”

Another young American racer, Aaron Jeansonne, has had a challenging start to his year, but after a promising test at Brands Hatch last week, he is hoping to move up the order at Anglesey.

Club Championship leader, Max Marzorati, is not out this time, which means that returning drivers, Adam Quartermaine, John Svensson and Pascal Monbaron will all be looking to close the gap on him.

It is set to be a full grid with Jamie Thorburn, along with Dave and Tom McArther from B-M Racing all making their season debuts in the FF1600 National Championship.

Fans can look forward to plenty of the nose-to-tail racing that we know to expect from these unique looking single-seaters, plus the opportunity to visit the paddock to see if they can spot a motorsport star of the future amongst the young chargers.

In addition to three Avon Tyres FF1600 National races, there is a packed programme of racing with the Avon Tyres FF1600 Northern Championship, BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship Group A, BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Championship Group B, BRSCC Mazda MX-5 Super Cup & Super Series, Teekay Couplings Production GTi Championship, Hyperdrive ST-XR Challenge and Disklok Civic Cup.

Racing takes places on Saturday 8th and Sunday 9th June. Qualifying begins at 09:00. The first race is at 12:10 on the Saturday and 09:25 on the Sunday

Championship Information

The championship is just one of the many run by the British Racing and Sports Car Club,

Formula Ford 1600, the category powered by the legendary 1600cc “Kent” engine has been in operation for over 50 years since its inception.

The 2019 Avon Tyres National Formula Ford 1600 Championship will feature a Rookie class for the first time in an effort to encourage more young racing talent to compete in the series going forwards.

Former FF1600 competitors include the legendary Ayrton Senna, David Coulthard, Jenson Button, Tommy Byrne and Mike Conway.

Ross Martin, Team Dolan, took his first ever FF1600 National win to take the lead in the National Pro Championship


© 2020 BRSCC.

 Website designed and created by Alex Birley, Run Comms and Co-ordination