• Alex Birley Formula Ford Festival -Day One

The weather might have been pretty dreadful, but the on track action was exciting, as drivers had to show their mettle in very tricky conditions.

Results for Heat 1 sponsored by HEDTEC in the Formula Ford Festival.

In very tricky conditions the top 3 were Matthew Cowley, Josh Green and Joey Foster.

Team USA Scholarship driver Josh Green looked impressive at his first Festival, but when we caught up with him he was explaining just how greasy the conditions were.

2018 Festival winner, Josh Smith had some issues in the build up, but made it through from 9th on the grid to 4th.

The key is the top 16 who go straight through to the Semi Finals.

The others have to go to the Last Chance Event at the end of the day. One to watch in that will be the Canadian scholarship driver Jonathan Woolridge who had a last lap off and was a DNF.

Congratulations again to Callum Crawley who won the draw for the fantastic prize donated by HEDTEC of a brand new HEDTEC GEM (Snell SA2015/FIA 8859) racing helmet.

Results for Heat 2 sponsored by Wiz Wheels in the Formula Ford Festival.

Conditions were still tricky and there were close battles up and down the field.

The top 3 were Jonathan Browne, Chris Middlehurst and Michael Eastwell (who made a great start).

2019 National FF1600 Championship, Ross Martin, had a tense moment when he went off into the gravel, but he kept his head and made his way out to finish 5th.

Congratulations to Laurie Hughes who won the draw for the great prize donated by Wiz Wheels of a brand new set of wheels, presented by Ed Moore.

Results for Heat 3 sponsored by Raceparts in the Formula Ford Festival.

In very wet conditions Niall Murray put in a dominant drive, laying down an early marker in the Festival.

The top 3 were Niall Murray, Oliver White and Rory Smith

Niall was also the winner in the random draw for the fantastic prize donated by heat sponsor, Raceparts, of a £500 voucher for anything within the Raceparts catalogue.

Photos: Please credit James Roberts.

Row 1 left to right: Heat one podium Josh Green (2nd), Matthew Cowley (1st), Joey Foster (3rd)/ Callum Crawley being presented with his HEDTEC award from the prize draw

Row 2 left to right: Heat two podium Chris Middlehurst (2nd), Jonathan Browne (1st), Michael Eastwell (3rd)/ Laurie Hughes being presented with his Wiz Wheels award from the prize draw

Row 3 left to right: Heat three podium Oliver White (2nd), Niall Murray (1st), Rory Smith (3rd)/ Niall Murray with his Raceparts award from the prize draw

Row 4: Last Chance race podium: Mark Armstrong (2nd), Andrew Blair (1st), Stephen Mawhinney (3rd)


© 2020 BRSCC.

 Website designed and created by Alex Birley, Run Comms and Co-ordination