• Alex Birley

Third Round Post-Race Report - Day 1, Anglesey

Updated: Jun 10, 2019

Ross Martin became the first double winner of the 2019 BRSCC Avon Tyres Formula Ford National Championship season after another exciting race in tricky conditions.

There had been plenty of rain at the Anglesey Circuit, but when pole sitter, Spike Kohlbecker, lead them round it was on a drying circuit.

At the start it looked as if Kohlbecker bogged down a bit and it was the Kevin Mills driver, Neil MacLennan who made the best start to move from third on the grid and into the lead before turn one. Ross Martin was second, Rory Smith third and Kohlbecker back in fourth.

Smith was on a charge after some reliability woes at the previous two rounds, passing Martin as they exited Rocket and looking to find a way by MacLennan. The B-M Racer took the lead, but MacLennan was not giving up and there was a coming together between the two at the Corkscrew. Both drivers dropped down the field with Smith finishing fourth and earning two points for fastest lap, whilst Neil McLennan was not happy to finish down in an eventual 11th place.

There were close battles up and down the field on this challenging circuit. The rookie racer, Brendon Leigh had put in an impressive qualifying performance to start the race in fifth place. Tom McArthur demoted him to sixth, but the Esports driver was looking racy. Unfortunately, his move on McArthur resulted in a collision which also collected former F4 driver, Jamie Sharp.

Sharp and Leigh retired on the spot, but the B-M driver, Tom McArthur managed to keep going, although he had to head to the pits to have two cones removed from under his car and would eventually have to retire.

With Sharp and Leigh stuck on track the safety was deployed to recover them with five minutes being added to the race time and what a race it was with Kohlbecker desperately trying to find a way passed title rival, Martin.

This battle for the lead allowed James Clarke to close the gap on the top two. It had already been a stunning drive from the Cliff Dempsey racer, who had started back in tenth on the grid and it can’t be long until this youngster gets on the top step of the podium.

Adam Quartermaine took the Club Class win and fastest lap, with Belgian racer, John Svensson in second having a recovered from an early spin in the Rocket combination, and teammate Pascal Monbaron in third.

Former Ginetta racer, Morgan Quinn, was the top rookie. Quinn was on the backfoot having missed out on testing due to exam commitments and had qualified 11th. He was up to sixth at one point and would eventually finish in ninth.

Fellow rookies Nicole Wood and Scott Huntly both had quiet races, taking the opportunity to gain valuable experience of racing on a changeable track after two sunny rounds at Snetterton and Oulton Park.

Two drivers out for the first time in the National Championship were Jamie Thorburn of the Border Reivers time and David McArthur (Tom’s brother). Thorburn had an interesting race having dropped out of the top ten he then took full advantage of the various incidents to move up to finish in sixth having managed to hold off Kevin Mills Racing’s Mike McPherson.

McArthur was still on a high from an exciting victory in the Northern Formula Ford race. He was running fourth, but didn’t put up any resistance to teammate Smith, who is contesting the whole championship, so would finish in fifth place.

Oldfield Racing’s American driver Aaron Jeansonne had some disappointments at the last two rounds, but he had a very positive race, finishing in 8th from 14th on the grid.

There are two further Formula Ford races today with plenty more nose to tail racing at this stunning circuit.

Final Classification: Martin (NP), Kohlbecker (NP), Clarke (NP), Smith (NP), D McArthur (NP), Thorburn (NP), MacPherson (NP), Jeansonne (NP), Quinn (NP) R, Quartermaine (C), MacLennan (NP), Huntley (NP) R, Svensson (C), Monbaron (C), Woods (NP) R

DNF: T McArthur, Leigh (NP) R, Sharp (NP)

NP =National Pro, C = Clubman’s Class, R = Rookie

Twitter: @BRSCCFF1600Nat

Instagram: BRSCCFF1600Nat

FF1600 National Podium at Anglesey. L:R Spike Kohlbecker (2nd), Ross Martin (1st), James Clarke (3rd)


© 2020 BRSCC.

 Website designed and created by Alex Birley, Run Comms and Co-ordination