Why Join the FF1600 National Championship

This championship, with its tough, competitive and cost-effective racing, is a traditional, proven next step on the motor sport ladder after karting, but it has been organised by the BRSCC to cater for both career-minded and 'club' drivers.

But why choose the BRSCC Avon Tyres National FF1600 Championship to race in?

It is a great series in which to develop your race craft. Aerodynamic aids are banned and so young drivers get to experience a lot of nose-to-tail racing. The distinctive-looking single-seater cars have no wings which means they can follow each other very closely and particularly into corners giving fans the spectacular racing they have come to expect from FF1600 racing.

Entrants also learn to maximise a car's mechanical grip before moving onto more advanced series.

Drivers have the opportunity to work with experienced racers including team bosses Cliff Dempsey and Bernard Dolan and ex FF1600 stars as driver coaches, including Josh Smith who is now with the McLaren Driver Development Programme and British GT driver, Luke Williams. Along with experienced engineers including Andy Brickles, Kevin Mills and James Oldfield.

The regulations have been kept stable since being drawn up in 1967, which means that there is a very wide range of cars eligible so you don't have to go out and buy a brand new chassis in order to go racing, which has a big impact on the budget needed to enter.

It is a professional, but friendly paddock and you get to race at some of the top and historic circuits in the UK including Brands Hatch, Silverstone, Snetterton and Oulton Park.

The BRSCC continues to work with the National teams about how to develop the championship both on and off track.


In order to give the best possible value for taking part in an event has the following championships operating within the National Pro Championship calendar:

The Clubman National Championship: To help those with limited funds compete in the National Championship, the Clubman Championship series offers a lower cost nationwide competition enabling competitors to attend certain events without penalty, whilst still having the opportunity to compete for points and trophies.


The Triple Crown Championship was introduced as an opportunity for drivers from the Midlands and the South, although it has proven to be an attractive proposition for many National and Clubman entrants, to be able to race at three defined events and win this trophy.  In 2019 this comprises of three triple-header race weekends at Snetterton, Brands Hatch and Silverstone. The points earnt by drivers who compete at all three rounds will decide the winner of this championship trophy.


The Tourist Trophy: This is another 'stand-alone' championship in that only points scored at three Home Nation venues which are Anglesey, Croft  and Kirkistown.

There is also a BRSCC Avon Tyres FF1600 Northern Championship which attracts more of a clubman field and has its own calendar which you can find out more about here

© 2020 BRSCC.

 Website designed and created by Alex Birley, Run Comms and Co-ordination